I recently ran across some full newspapers, mostly from Oregon and mostly from the days around when JFK was shot. The date on this Oregonian newspaper is Nov. 25th, 1963 and I scanned all the fab Thanksgiving ads out of it so that we could all enjoy the illustrated foods and cheap prices from the days of yore.

There are quite a few stores that I don’t remember, like Baza’r, Garbades, Tradewell and Big C, and I had no idea there had been a Piggly Wiggly in Portland ever until recently.

I remember shopping at Keinow’s, Safeway and Thriftway and of course Fred Meyer but I didn’t scan their ad cause it was boring. Sorry. And to be honest I don’t know what Safeway was thinking with their ad. That kid looks like he’s about to grab the knife out of the hand of the person carving the turkey.

So sit back and enjoy some olde timey Thankgiving goodness – whether you grew up in Portland Or. or not 🙂

piggly-wiggly-close

piggly-wiggly-thankgiving

baza'r thankgiving

keinows-logo

keinows-thanksgiving

big-c-thanksgiving

garbades-thanksgiving

aluminum-pan-safeway-ad

safeway-logo

safeway-thanksgiving

thriftway-stores

thriftway-thanksgiving

tradewell-logo

tradewell-thanksgiving

tradewell-turkey

turkey-reynolds-wrap

Have a fabulous Thanksgiving!!!!

