IMG_2256 2

I wasn’t sure if I was gonna do the Dewey Read-a-Thon again this fall or not – but this week I decided it would be kinda nice to have an actual excuse to do nothing but read all day long.

So this Saturday the 18th that’s what I’ll be doing.  Reading and eating and giving updates every so often on my progress.

Today I’ll post the books I plan to read and tomorrow I’ll give you all the low down on the snack situation.

I have a tendency to start reading a book and then decide a few pages or a chapter into it that it’s not grabbing me – so I have a few books lined up so I can switch around and not get bored.  I also have a couple that I started a while back and need to finish so I’ll be concentrating on those first.

The first is Ammie, Come Home by Barbara Michaels.

Harry Bennett Ammie Come Home Barbara Michaels

 

It’s one of the better gothic romance style books I’ve read – with some genuinely creepy moments – and I’m looking forward to finishing it.  I got about 3/4 of the way done then got distracted somehow.   I have 58 pages left on that.

Another one I started a while back is Rosemary’s Baby by Ira Levin.  I was only a couple chapters in when the dreaded distraction happened – so I have quite a ways to go on this one.  I’d say about 200 pages.

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 5.07.30 PM

 

Then there are a couple super scary books I added in case I need something to scare me awake.  The Exorcist (405 pages) and Psycho (130 pages).  I read The Exorcist when I was in high school and everything about it and the movie scared the hell out of me.  The cover really creeped me out too and I could never leave it lying around face up.  It’s still one of the only movies that totally creeps me out no matter how many times I’ve seen it.

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 5.03.57 PM

 

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 5.04.27 PM

 

They are both pdf ebooks – which I generally prefer when I read ebooks cause it feels way more like reading a real book to me – with the yellowed pages and stains and page folds and everything.  I get a lot of them at Open Library.  You just need a regular library account number from some library in the US and you can start checking stuff out.  I find a lot of cool older horror and gothic horror there.

And finally, I’ve just come across this whole genre of erotica called paranormal erotica and found a few for free on Amazon.  I skimmed the first few pages and decided on one that I think I might be into reading – based on subject matter, writing style and the fact that it didn’t have a detective in it.  There seems to be a lot of paranormal erotica books with monster detectives in them.

The book is called Claimed by Evangeline Anderson.  So I’m putting it on my list and may be reading it during the Read-a-Thon if I am kicking ass on reading or if I need to change things up.  It’s 319 ebook pages – which is usually way off from regular page counting so I’m not sure how to count it.

Screen Shot 2014-10-15 at 5.01.26 PM

 

So far it seems like it has something to do with an alien race and some dude that is claiming this human chick.  And I think we all know what kind of claiming is gonna be going on!

That’s all I’m gonna list cause I doubt I’ll even get halfway through these books here.

So wish me luck and say some “2, 4, 6, 8 we think Carol’s really great!”  type of chants for me on Saturday!

And if you feel like it you can always join in with the reading mania!!!!

tumblr_n72gnlNKBb1qa9a3eo1_500

I told you there would be dicks.

 

