The other day while I was wandering around aimlessly and doing absolutely nothing as I am wont to do (really I am), I came across a bunch of recipes that use Dr. Pepper (and 7Up – but I generally say whatev to 7Up).  
Some of the recipes were dessert type, which is totally expected, and some were marinades or sauces for meat…again, totally expected…but some were for casseroles and dips!  And man I got geeked.  I really love sweet and savory stuff together and I really really love trying new things and so I decided that the first one to try would be the Company Casserole.
Now, being the modification queen that I am, I didn’t follow the directions EXACTLY.  I did my own thing partly out of necessity and partly cause I hate celery (and I love pineapple and would try to stick it in just about anything!).  So….you can go here and try the original recipe (and look at the groovy old cookbooks and check out the other recipes!!), or you can try my modified recipe below….or if you’re feeling really adventurous you can try both!  Side by side even.  But you really should try it.  It’s pretty damn good!
Pressure Cooked Dr Pepper Company Casserole

3 T butter
1/4 of a pineapple, cubed
2 cups Dr. Pepper
1 1/4 t salt
1 t curry powder 
1 c uncooked long grain jasmine rice
1 uncooked chicken breast, cut into 2-inch pieces
1/2 c chopped almonds and cashews
Melt butter in pressure cooker and brown the cubed chicken briefly.  Add everything but nuts and stir.  Cover pressure cooker and bring up to pressure (15psi) then cook for 8 min.  Release pressure however you are comfortable (I just let it go down on it’s own), take off lid and add chopped nuts and stir it all up.  
Although I really liked the way it turned out there are a few things I’d do differently next time (and I will def make this again).  Even though I doubled the amount of curry powder that the original recipe called for I would prob add even more – maybe another 1/2 tsp.  But I really love curried stuffs.  I might also add a bit more salt.  The rice came out slightly overdone so next time i would prob add the same amount of liquid but reduce the cooking time to 6 minutes – that way the extra liquid might make it kinda saucy – which would be fine with me.  
Here’s a couple pics right after it was done cooking….

Num!
