Rhoda….
There are so many things to love about the TV show that Valerie Harper starred in throughout the mid 70s that I could prob do a separate post about each of them!  But what I’m gonna do today is squeeze it all in to this one post.  All of it.  Ok, most of it.  Ok a good portion, but really there will most likely be many more posts anyway, so lets not get all hung up on amounts.  I’ll just say that by the time you get to the end of THIS post you will be oozing Rhoda from every pore of your body.  
And you will thank me.
So, let’s get the ball rolling and start with that fab 70s font!  
You just know you’re in the right place when you see that!  And there behind it is the NYC skyline!  It really doesn’t get much better than NYC in the 70s as a setting for a movie or TV show in my book.  Now, the show was filmed in a studio in LA, but a lot of the little transitional shots, like getting in and out of cabs…

were shot in NYC.  Not to mention the epic Rhoda’s Wedding two part episode that has Rhoda running through the streets of Manhattan, taking a NYC subway, then running through streets and up stairs in The Bronx, all in her wedding dress and finally ending up at her parents house.  
And all the while, Phyllis apologizing to everyone (and yelling “I’m so sorry grandma!”) for forgetting to pick her up.  
And speaking of Phyllis, the guest stars on Rhoda were great too!  I won’t name them all since I’ve got bigger fish to fry – but of course there are the The Mary Tyler Moore Show cast members who showed up for the wedding and on other occasions, and many others throughout the years, including Linda Lavin and Howard Hesseman in the first season.

Not to mention all of the incredible co-stars Julie Kavner, Nancy Walker, David Groh and Harold Gould who you will see pictured momentarily!
70s clothing and decor is always a huge plus in my feverishly-70s-loving brain, and Rhoda never disappoints!  
As well as Rhoda’s fab 70s hair – with and without the headscarf.
And then there’s Valerie Harper’s really great girl-from-The-Bronx accent, attitude and hand gestures!  She just brought so much fabulous beauty, warmth and humor to the role.
So, when I was asked by Amanda over at Made for TV Mayhem to take part in the Valerie Harper Blogathon, I honestly don’t think it took me more that a few minutes to figure out what I was going to spend my time talking about.  I clearly knew it would be about the TV show Rhoda, and one of the things I have loved watching over and over and over in all of the episodes of Rhoda that I love sooo much (which is all of them, btw) are the moments when she and her sister Brenda talk about, obsess over and consume food.   
I could listen to Sara Lee jokes and watch Rhoda attempt to wake Brenda up with an aerosol can of whipped cream at least a hundred more times and still laugh every single time.
So what I would like to present to you now is pretty much every single food (and beverage) shot from just the first HALF of the FIRST SEASON of Rhoda.  I didn’t even make it all the way through the first season!  Which is on Hulu, btw, so you can go watch all the food glory yourself.  And someday soon I plan on doing another post on the second half of the first season, cataloging every single food shot from there too.  And THEN, when I get my beloved scabby little bootleg copy of the ENTIRE series out of storage, I will commence to further catalog the rest of the food shots from the whole rest of the show!  I’m actually hoping against hope that by then the entire series will have a proper release cause my copy of Rhoda is really very sad as you can see in this post here where I dazzle everyone with fuzzy images of Rhoda and Joe’s apartment in the first two seasons of the show.  
And now, here you have it!  Rhoda, Joe, Brenda, Ida, Martin and a few others in the food shots of Rhoda!!!!!!  
Deli and Other Platters!
Desserts!!
Breakfast Cereal!!

Beverages!!

To enlarge images in separate window on Macs hit Command then click – I dunno what you Windows people do

Random Foods!!  Sandwiches!  Chicken!  Cheese!  Yogurt!  Etc!

Now, we here at CPCFCW really love to see food in any form of media.  In fact, any time there is food being used in anything, really,  an alarm goes off at the headquarters and I go inspect.  But!  What we love even more than that is seeing people actually sticking the food INTO their mouths!  Seriously!

So here, before your very eyes, are shots of Rhoda, Brenda and even Phyllis sticking food into their mouths.   I hope you enjoy these images as much as I do every single time I see them.

Whew!  I think I need a sandwich or a bucket of chicken now to help me come down off the food pic high!

But seriously, I really do hope you enjoyed seeing all these great images and that maybe they made you smile.

There have been many times in my life when the only thing I wanted to do was lay on a couch for an indeterminate amount of time, and watching Rhoda was the only thing that made me feel better.  And I am truly grateful to Valerie Harper for that.  I think there are many ways to measure success in life, and the way I measure it is if you are able to make one person happy throughout your entire lifetime you can count yourself successful.

Valerie Harper is obviously a success thousands, well millions, but perhaps billions, really, of times over and I personally thank her for every smile she ever gave me.

And thank you Amanda for asking me to take part in the fabulous blogathon!!

🙂

