I came across this movie on Netflix a little while back when I was in the mood for some black and white action.  It’s actually pretty interesting and atmospheric, with lots of shadows and patterns and whatnot (Fritz Lang, baby, Fritz Lang) and a nice, creepy old house.

I checked on imdb to see where the house was located – and I’m not really sure what the deal is.  It just says Republic Studios, Hollywood, and I don’t know if that means it was all done on a sound stage or if the interior of this house really exists or what.  Most of the action happens in just a few places in the house – but I don’t know what that means either.  But I guess we’ve all figured out by now that my job around here isn’t to know anything – it’s just to show you nifty pictures.  And show you nifty pictures I will!

This shot here is at the beginning of the movie where we are introduced to the titular (I swear to god I never ever thought I’d use that word in any sort of serious way in my entire life) house and river.   The house in question is the one with the gazebo in front (or in back, really) of it.  Here are some closer-up shots of the gazebo.

I think gazebos are fine – they’re nice if it’s sunny and you want to sit down somewhere in the shade – but other than that they don’t increase the market value a ton for me.

But I do like that little wall!

There’s something about it that is just so nice.

Even though it does nothing to keep out the nosy neighbors.  But if I were to live smashed up close to my neighbors like this – I think I’d like a little wall around somewhere.

This place also has a nice hammock…

but really, the outside isn’t the most exciting part.  We need to go in to get geeked out.

I’ll tell you right off the bat that there is no kitchen here.  I’m sure there’s one in there somewhere (unless it really is just a sound stage – boo!) but they don’t show it.  But!  There is a pretty great cellar!  We’ll get to that later – oh what the hell – I’ll just start there.  I don’t know if I’ve ever done that before – just jump right ahead to the best part first.  But what the hell.

Here we are at the top of the cellar stairs – and already we can see jugs and bottles and stuff!  So we know this is gonna be one good cellar.  And dig them black shadows.  There’s way more of that to come.

So, basically what we have here is a bunch of stuff.

But really good stuff!  Check out that bike!  And the trunks!

I love those old steamer trunks!  Esp the ones with the funky inserts.

Unfortunately there are no canning jars down here – so let’s just head upstairs and see what’s up there…

There’s a nice, ornate, entryway with, what looks like, etched glass in the door…

and some nice old door hardware…

Here we are in the downstairs hallway – which is one of the main areas of action in the movie.

Nice chair!

And nice carpet…

And here we can see the main stairway off the main hallway – which is another big action spot.

There’s lots of scenes going up and down the stairs…

and they all feature shadowy goodness and fabulous wallpaper…

and check out this arch at the top of the stairs!  Freaking cool!

And since were headed upstairs I’ll go ahead and show you the bedroom.

Not bad – what with the fireplace and antiques all around.  I love this dressing table…

And I love how you can see the other furniture in the mirror – like in this shot too…

A bedroom with multiple antique dressing tables and velvet covered chairs.  Pretty cool.

There are a few other times mirrors are used in this movie – and I put them all together for you here.

             Before                                                                                                                                                        After

Oh, and here is the bathtub.

I really miss having a bathtub.

Ok – so lets go back downstairs and check out some other rooms.  Here we are back in the hallway…

and if we go down the hall we wind up in the study…

Dig all those pictures on the wall.  I like that.  And more great wallpaper – and a nice leather couch thing to take a nap on.

When we wander around we can also see the nice curtains all over the place…

and more antique furniture…

and always the wallpaper.

And check this thing out!  It’s some sort of contraption to carry your soft boiled eggs with!  Damn.  I didn’t know they made those.  I mean, I’ve seen the egg cups and stands and whatnot – but not something with a handle that you carry the eggs around with.  Too funny!

Well, I guess I’ll stop for now with the egg carrying contraption.  That really is all there is to see of the house anyway.  It’s a very nice, gothic house with a lot of shadows and wallpaper and junk to thrill you with – or me, rather.

