Also know as Full Circle, cause, up there it clearly says “Full Circle.”

I first saw The Haunting of Julia back in July after reading the review at my beloved Kindertrauma, and was fully aware at the time how mother-flipping cool Julia’s pad was, but kinda forgot about the movie and it and the house just sort of slipped away into the horror-movie-house nether regions.  Just last week, however, I stumbled upon it again in one of my atmospheric, preferably-set-in-the-70s, and hopefully creepy movie searches and decided to watch it again.  I was glad I did, cause I totally forgot how mother-flipping cool Julia’s pad was and I am here right now to show you just how cool.

Ignore that house up there in the title shot – cause that ain’t it.  That house is pretty nice, but compared to the one we are about to see, it may as well be public housing.

I won’t go into detail about the story or anything mundane like that.  Just suffice it to say that Julia lived in that place up there, and then about 10 minutes later lives (and spends the rest of the movie) here…

Here’s a street shot.  Kinda nifty looking street too.

Here we are approaching the house, so I’ll just start the tour and see where we wind up.  I should warn you that I am getting over a cold and am still kinda foggy – so we might end of on the other end of town or something.  Who knows.  Just yell “Hey!” real loud if I wander off too far.

So, here we see the wrought iron front porch awning, and it is really is pretty spectacular.

Here we have some really nice, detailed trim around the front door, as well as some really pretty stained glass…

In the entry you can see even more glass…

A lot more…

And along with the lots of glass action that we see here, there is also an abundance of doors of various sizes and many many mirrors scattered all over the place.  And they are all utilized pretty well in the movie.

Here is a double door that leads into a piano room…

You just can’t go wrong with double doors.

And here’s a bunch of doors of different sizes.  Some are cupboards or closets or something.  Who knows – they never really show what they are – but they are cool and kinda confusing and really nifty.

Here’s more doors and built in things, cubbies and drawers…

mirrors and doors and cubbies and glass doors…damn.

Here’s another shot of some doors and mirrors…

And another shot of some more doors and mirrors…

And another shot of doors and mirrors and doors in mirrors…

And yet another shot of doors in mirrors…

That guy is bringing her another mirror!!  It’s a pretty nice one too.  I like this guy.  His name is Mark.  He’s not her husband.  Her husband, MAGnus, is a dick and she ditched him in that other house.  He keeps trying to get her to come back, but fat chance MAGnus.  I think Mark is a much more sensible name that Magnus.

Here’s Magnus eating a cookie…

 And here’s Magnus running through the bedroom of many doors…

on his way to vomit (privately! Yes!) in the bathroom of many doors…

Along with many many doors, mirrors and windows, this house also has a proliferance of tall, skinny tables.

And even a tall, skinny table in the bathroom that is dedicated solely to the telephone.

There must be a lot of bathtub phone usage in England cause Mark has a phone in his bathroom too – in what I must say, next to Julia’s, is also one of the coolest bathrooms I’ve ever seen…

So, now that we’ve seen a bunch of door and mirrors and windows and tables, let’s take a look downstairs.

There are actually two downstairs levels that could be mistakenly construed as the basement, or cellar.  Ok, ONE level that could be mistakenly construed, and another level that is clearly the cellar.  Watch closely.

This first level had me fooled.

Mostly cause of the traditional big old cellar sink and – oh you didn’t see it, but Julia had to travel a ways to get here.  I’ll show you…

She had to go down this long dark alley (and btw I love alleys about as much as I love little doors and tunnels!)…

and down some stairs….

in order to climb through a window to get to that sink.   I was all, not bad!  At least there’s some cellar action in this movie – even if it just amounts to a big sink.

A little later I was greatly pleased and surprised to find that there is still one more level to go before we get to the actual cellar!!!  I had been duped, but in the best way possible!

Yay!!

So down the stairs we go…

into the deep, dark cellar full of junk!

And another mirror!

Not much else here to see though.  No canning jars or anything – except a few bottles over there up against the windows.  I’m sure if someone got down there and cleaned the place out they’d find some jars though.  I mean, Julia bought this house FULLY furnished.  And we all know that fully furnished always means jars.

So now that we have seen the cellar, I think we are obligated to swiftly move on to the kitchen.  And boy oh boy does this kitchen rock!

So starting at this shot of the entry we’re basically doing that starting-with-the-feet-crossed 360 swivel move that the Brady kids do when they’re singing that “Keep On” song.

Here we have a fabulous dial wall phone, nifty glass front cabinet, nice lamps over the table, and some sort of pipe cubby at the far end there.

Some kind of groovy-fabriced drape and a nice stove.

A pantry that’s a bit hard to detect, but there, and very nice big windows.


Very nice plate and cup shelves…and here we are back at the entry.  See how well that swivel move worked?!?

Another great item in the kitchen is this über retro transistor radio!  Nice!

There are a few additional extras here and there that I like…and we’ll take a look at those now.

I’m not a fan of the creepy cymbal clapping clown toy, but I do like the fringe on the bedspread!

Moving over to the HUGE bathroom we see this really incredible sink – which is of course surrounded by doors and mirrors…

as well and the previously mentioned phone table, which we can see here is put to good use.  Very nice bathtub too!

Out back there is a greenhouse – which is another feature that I love, but that is not too common in the horror movie houses I’ve seen.  I’ve pointed out two, here and here – but I really don’t see them around much.

And since we’re outside I may as well point out that there is Chinese take out nearby!   I miss that.
And finally we have a very beautiful guilded velvet chair.  Probably not the only one in the house.  This place is wall to wall with fancy furnishings.  

Unfortunately imdb doesn’t have an actual house listed for the filming location.  It just says Kensington.  I wonder how many of the houses in Kensington look like this?  Damn.  I may just have to move to Kensington.

The only problem I really see here is the close proximity to neighbors.  Not really my fav way to live these days.  But if that means being closer to Chinese food I’ll consider making the sacrifice.

