I have been cruising around Netflix a lot in the last few weeks looking for either decent horror that I’ve probably already seen, not necessarily decent horror that I haven’t seen yet, or anything set in NYC in the 70s or early 80s.  Those have been my moods – esp with the weather change and the impending Halloweendom.

During my searches I was really surprised to stumble upon a Romanian horror movie called Strigoi cause I hardly ever see anything Romanian pop up there.  I just did a quick search and guess what…Strigoi doesn’t even come up when you search for Romanian movies.  Go Netflix.  You rock.

So anywho…those of you who have followed this blog like your life depended on it may know that I lived in Romania for a spell.  It was really interesting and I miss it sometimes.  There were definitely things I didn’t like so much, but there were some things I really loved – like a lot of people I met there, as well as a lot of the the buildings and the scenery.   I actually did another Home Sweet Home post on a horror movie that is set in Romania called Them or Ils (which is French for Them – the folks in the movie are French folks and they speak French.  The folks in Strigoi are Romanian but they all speak English throughout the movie with the exception of a few Romanian words here and there – I’m assuming because they were hoping more English speaking folks would watch it that way).  I pointed out how the house in that movie totally reminded me of the house of the head of the English Dept of the school I taught at in Cluj Napoca.  There is a house in this movie that is similar.  But there are other totally different Romanian houses in here that are really cool and pretty unique.  

There are actually 4 houses in this movie that we will be visiting – but for all intents and purposes 3 of the houses can virtually be seen as one, cause they are all the same style – that being a village style home.  I don’t know the proper term here – but basically if you take a train anywhere in Romania you will see, close to the train tracks and far away scattered in the hills, these small houses.   Unfortunately in the movie there aren’t many exterior shots of the small houses – so I am going to show you some random small village house pics I took when I was over there.

So first off we have the exterior of one of the movie village houses…

and here are exteriors of Romanian houses I took pictures of…

Some are in villages and some are actually in cities.

I don’t know if anyone lives in that last one.  It’s pretty freaking dilapidated.  But that’s the way I likes um.

Another exterior shot of the house in the movie is the front gate along the street…

Cute!!

And here are some exterior shots of the other style of house in this movie.  This is where the mayor of the town lived – so I guess it would be considered a wealthy person’s house.  And this is the house that resembles the house in Ils and the house of the woman I worked with.

Same house…but at night…

Now that we’ve gotten the exteriors out of the way, let’s move onto the most important part!

FOOD!

Just kidding.  But seriously check out that food!  And where else would you make fabulous food like that but in a Romanian kitchen.

Follow me as we check out this place.

First we see a table with food – yay!  Pretty freaking common in Romania.  Also really common…an older woman forcing food on anyone in a 10 mile radius.

So here is the main dude, Vlad, shoveling his face with food…

and she just keeps bringing more…

and any time he comes into her kitchen (she’s his next door neighbor) she sits him down and gives him more food.

So here is where I will start with the tour.  Check out that green cupboard thing over there.  I dig that thing.

Here is a shot of the top of it.

So now we turn a bit to the right and we can see some double doors that go into the living room, and this other cupboard….

Here’s a pulled back shot so you can see the table and everything…

Here we are basically standing in front of that white cupboard looking in the other direction…

 And here we are at the same low angle but with more stuff visible…like that cute fabric covering the under-the-sink area.

and that 3rd little cupboard in the corner over there…

and another little shelf thing on the wall…(cute salt and pepper shakers btw)

And then if you turn to the right – you would be standing right in front of the sink or stove here – you would see this…
Yet another cupboard with the refrigerator right next to it.
And here’s a nifty faucet…
This woman is about to throw up.  But I would never, never show you that cause I HATE it when they show people puking in movies.  HATE.  It has become so freaking ubiquitous nowadays and I always have to be on the lookout for someone who looks like they might puke so I can shut my eyes really fast cause I know that they are gonna show it.  Cause they ALWAYS show it now.  FUCK!  Listen up movie people!!!!!!  STOP SHOWING PUKE COMING OUT OF PEOPLE’S MOUTHS IN MOVIES.  NOW!   Not everyone thinks it’s funny or scary or whatever you think people think.  It makes some people never want to watch your stupid movie ever again.  I’m not one of those people.  But I’m sure there’s SOMEONE out there who feels that way.  And I am behind them 100%!
Ok – I finally got that off my chest.  
This was my kitchen in Romania…
I lived in an apartment – so it was pretty small – but I had one of those nifty cupboards!
And this is a small pile of rocks and string I separated out of a bag of rice I bought there.  Heh.
So, back to the movie…here is the kitchen in the big, fancy mayor’s house…
It’s even bigger than the other village house kitchen – and WAY bigger than my apt kitchen.

Ok – so we got the kitchens out of the way.  Sadly, once again I have no cellars to show you.  Oh, they’re out there.  There are cellars to be found in Romania – but none in this movie.  You’d think that with vampires and all – oh yeah, I forgot to tell you..this is a vampire movie.  It is a pretty damn unique vampire movie too.  But I’ll get to that later, cause I wanna dwell on that a bit.

So anyway – another very unique and interesting aspect of Romanian homes is the sheer amount of furniture they cram into these homes.  They are furnished wall to wall.  You could literally get from one end of a house to the other by walking on the furniture – and you’d never have to touch the ground…if that was your thing.

So remember those double doors that were in the kitchen next to the white cupboard?  They led into the living room…

Here is another shot of the same living room

Tons of furniture – but still enough room for a whole bunch of guys.

Here is the living room/bedroom in another village house…

Lots of furniture…

And check out the cool door with the different sizes of glass.  I like that.  
And the beams in the ceilings and the really cool red trim around the walls at the top near the ceiling…

That red trim is also in another room in the house…

and check out the insane trim painted around the front door!

So freaking cool!

Next we’ll look at the kitchen/living room in another village home – it’s more like a one room, bachelor pad affair.

Not much to see – but it’s still pretty cool, in that minimalist, hunker-down kinda way.

This was my living room in Romania…

Sorry about the color on that one – it was really orangy so I tried to take it down a notch.  Oh and sorry about the pile of clothes on the floor.  Right next to the giant wooden cupboard thing was a giant wooden closet.  Then if you looked to the left there were these two big chairs, a small telephone table, a small desk with drawers, a dining room table with 2 wooden chairs and THAT FREAKING VACUUM!  Holy shit that thing was cool…looking.  If memory serves it worked like a 1960s era vacuum would work in 2004.

On the opposite wall behind me was a bed/couch…like this…

And here you can see the living room, the hallway and at the end of the short hallway, the bathroom.  And right before the bathroom there on the right is the entry to the kitchen.

The living room in the mayor’s house in the movie is much larger than any of the previously viewed living rooms…

But still has a lot of stuff in it.

It also has really cool wallpaper…

So that’s about it for the houses.  Now I’ll talk about the vampire business a bit.  I don’t want to give a ton away – cause I think you should see this movie – it’s pretty good.  Be warned though that it’s one of those movies that anyone born after 1972 will probably call boring and anyone who says things like “Zombies don’t run and vampires don’t glimmer in the sunlight!” will probably snub.  The vampires in this movie do things a LOT differently than any other vampires…

like eat…

….food….

and I am all for that!

I seriously don’t know when people started thinking that made-up stories can never be changed or expanded upon or used to make other made-up stories but what-the-freak-ever people.

IT’S ALL MADE UP!

Oh and as for boring?  Fine.  Go read what some celebrity dip shit says on Twitter all night and I’ll watch this.

Oh yeah, and check out this pickle jar!

Alright!

Kicking off Halloween in style with Romanian vampires!

I did screen grabs of 3 other movies this week – so if I can keep this up you’re all in for a real treat!!

Yay Halloween!

