Ok – I think I figured it out.  I’m not hepped up on any mickeys that anyone is slipping me, I’m just a little…well….with nothing to do.  Not bored exactly….just sorta…well, jobless and living in another trailer (don’t ask) surrounded by a (yet again) snowcovered ground.  Jesus Christos und Gott in Himmel when is it gonna stop raining/snowing and get warm?!?!?

So I guess that’s why you’ve been hearing from me so much lately.  Yay!  I’m sure at least someone out there at some point in the last week or so said that.  But that could have just been me.

So, along with the pancake action that has been happening around here, there has also been some cake/pattie/cutlet/fake burger/whateveryouwanttocallthem action.  The other day I made some colcannon cakes with the St. Patrick’s Day leftovers (sorry, no photo), and today I made some sweet potato cakes.  Aren’t they cute?  I guess it’s the combo of the cakes and the plate and my hand and the snowcovered ground behind everything – but I like that picture.

Anyway – I thought I’d share with you what I did.  They aren’t the most amazing things I’ve ever had in my life (am I a good salesperson or what?) – but they are good.  And I figure you can do what I always do and just use the general idea to make them however you would like them.

Sweet Potato Patties (cakes sounds too desserty)

1 sweet potato (with skin) – cubed and steamed
1/2 onion chopped and sauteed
1/4 red pepper chopped and sauteed
2 cloves garlic choped and sauteed
1/2 c (give or take) quick cooking oats (it’s all I had – so if you are über healthy you can sub something else
1 egg
1/2 tsp garlic salt
1/2 tsp sage
1 tbls chia seeds
2 tbls sesame seeds

Mash everything together really well, make patties and fry in whatever oil you prefer.  This amount made 8 kinda small (4 inch) patties (I ate one before taking the picture).

I’ve also, in my with-nothing-much-to-do stupor, been downloading contemporary (and not) Asian music like a mo-fo (and believe me, if I had the dough I’d be buying all this music – in fact there would be a stack of Fama cds en route to my house right now).

Let’s just watch some Fama. I have listened to this song probably 40+ times in the last few days and watched this video at least 10 times today (I’m that kind of crazy chick), so let’s do it one more time…

↵ Use original player
YouTube
← Replay
X
i

In case you’re not a friend of mine on Facebook (you can be if you want to get my weird Asian music, food and girly photo updates, I’ll let you…), you should know, that through my stealthy ways of looking things up with the help of Google translator, I figured out that the lady in the video is famed Hong Kong fortune teller Mak Ling Ling.

So watch away (40 or 50 times should do the trick) and have a good day!!!

