I wasn’t going to give in to the St. Patrick’s Day hysteria.  Really, I wasn’t.  I was even gonna change OUT of my green sweatpants, just for today.  But, alas, the massive throngs of Craftypants Carol lunatics have gathered outside my home again and have been chanting “Why haven’t you posted anything on your blog about St. Patrick’s Day, craftypants lady?”, over and over again. I couldn’t really understand what they were saying at first, cause it doesn’t really roll off the tongue, and plus it just sounded like a mish-mash of Patrick and pants or something…but then I saw the signs they all so carefully hand painted and were holding out there in the rain, and it brought a tear to my eye.  
So here is some vintagy, Irishy stuff for you to gander at while you down your beers and eat your corned items.
That first one up there is from a set that looks like it’s from the early part of the 1900s.  It’s like a children’s cut-out illustration thing that sort of teaches the letters of the alphabet by way of, in this case, stereotypes.  It was already cut out and subsequently glued onto yellowing construction paper by  someone I don’t know when I found it.  There are “stands fors” for all the letters in the alphabet, and, lucky for me and you, the makers of this informative illustration set chose Irishman for the letter I.  Isn’t that thoughtful?  
Someday soon I may post the rest of the “stands for” illustrations I have. I think I have most of the letters, but I may be missing a few.  But until then you’ll have to be happy with just the Irishman – or Irishpeople, Irishanimals and Irishthings, to be more precise.  
This next item is a card I probably got when I was a kid.  It had a whole book inside that had the legend of the leprechaun written out – which I neglected to scan when I scanned the cover.  Maybe cause the legend wasn’t all that great.  I don’t know.  Anyway, you’ve got the cover here, and you can make up your own legend and print it all out and you might even get some unsuspecting sap to believe your story!  That would be pretty cool. 

Now this is really pretty cool.  I mean, it doesn’t look like much, and the scan is a little crooked, but it’s so cute!  The original size of this card was like 2 x 2 1/2 inches or something. A little teeny weeny St. Patrick’s Day card!  That’s the kind of thing I like to see.  So when you print this one out, print it really really small.  Actually, you could do that with all of these.  Just make teeny cards!  I completely and totally approve of that!  Go do it NOW!

Here is another card that is pretty cute.  I mean, you can’t go wrong with cute little pixie leprechauns like these.

Alright!

