So this last weekend I traveled to Portland (it’s an hour drive from where I’m at) to sell some goods at a big garage sale and go to an Afterschool Special watching party.  It was a kinda relaxing, yet exhausting coupla days cause I really didn’t do much.  But what I did do – sitting in the sun for a day, drinking very strong margaritas, staying up late, sleeping on a couch – all kinda turned me into a zombie by Sunday.

That’s the boring synopsis.  Here is the exciting particulars!!

One of my super amazing acquisitions is this Pop Shoppe Pop crate of Pop Shoppe Pop bottles!!!

I guess they’re back in biz up in Canada – but I only remember drinking this stuff in the 70s.  This stuff was the shizzzzzit when I was a kizzle.  I actually don’t even know what I just said.

Anyway, when you wanted to buy Pop Shoppe Pop you had to go to a gas station or auto garage or something.  I’m exaggerating a little cause I didn’t even know where we were when we bought it when I was a kid – it just seemed like it was an auto garage.  I’m sure it was a perfectly respectable way to do business though.  Plus you had to buy it by the case, I think.  But you could mix a bunch of flavors into the case (or crate) and they had a ton.  We would only get it when we went to my cool grandma’s house.  She was cool cause she let us drink Pop Shoppe Pop and watch horror movies.

I’m not exactly sure what I’m gonna do with these – and I’m sure you’re thinking – “Weren’t you trying to get RID of stuff crafty lady?”  And you would be right.  I couldn’t pass up a major blast from my past though.  I was thinking about maybe even bottling some of my kefir soda in the bottles.  That would be kinda cool.

Another olde timey piece of Portland retro paraphernalia that I picked up at the garage sale where I was SUPPOSED to be unloading my crap is this…

It’s an old printing press plate thing for Sunshine milk – a local Portland biz that has a revolving Sunshine milk carton on top of their building.  It’s a total landmark – and I’m pretty sure it’s still there.   I really don’t know what I’m gonna do with this – but it’s freaking cool.

So later that night…

my sister and I went to a party at the house of a friend of her’s to watch an Afterschool Special called The Amazing Cosmic Awareness of Duffy Moon.

It is virtually the only Afterschool Special that I remember – even though I know I saw a bunch of them.  But for some reason it really stuck with me.  It stars Ike Eisenmann (Escape To Witch Mountain – don’t tell me you haven’t seen it) as Duffy Moon and Lance Kerwin (James at 15/16, Salem’s Lot) as his best friend.

There’s a book about cosmic awareness that was written by Dr. Flamel (Jim Backus)

a bunch of street toughs

and a character called Boots McAfee.

Boots McAfee (spoiler) turns out to be a chick – Alexa Kenin  
 
who was, for me, most memorably in Little Darlings.  Actually, everything about Little Darlings was memorable for me.  I love summer camp movies of any type – and it is one of my faves.  She also played one of Annie Potts friends at the bar in Pretty in Pink.   She’s also listed as being in Facts of Life but I totally don’t remember her in that.  I’ll have to check that out from the library again and see if I can find her.

So, the show ends in classic feel-good TV show fashion with everyone, including the street toughs, laughing for a very long time.

Ah, the carefree days of standing under a sprinkler and laughing.  
If you want to get in on the action you can start with the first part here.

That’s about all the retro excitement I can manage to insert into one blog post.  For now, anyways.

