The other day I posted a big ole thing about fermented nut cheese/cheeze/cheece/sheese and immediately I was barraged with an email from my sister with a novel suggestion.  She had somehow come into possession of a recipe for cheese crackers with almond flour and thought it would be tasty to use my aged, fermented nut cheese.  This is the original recipe – I don’t know the source so please don’t sue me if this is your recipe.  Just tell me who you are and I will give you your blessed due.

2 1/2 cups almond meal
1/4 teas sea salt
1/2 teas baking soda
1 cup freshly grated cheddar cheese
3 tablespoons grapeseed oil
2 large eggs

My plan was to dehydrate them in my food dryer – and I’m not too familiar with how eggs do in that sitch – so I did a switcheroo and substituted chia glob for eggs.  I’ll tell you all about it in a minute!  

I only had 1 3/4 c almond flour yesterday, and all I had for fermented nut cheese was one that had been going for 4 days – so it wasn’t really super cheezy – but it was still quite good.  So, anywho… I reduced the amount of some stuff and threw some other stuff in and low and behold came up with these really very good crackers.  





So here is my adapted recipe:

Raw Fermented Cheeze Crackers

1 3/4 c almond flour
1/2 c fermented nut cheese
2 T chia seeds
1/4 c water
1 t lemon juice 
1t sea salt

The first thing you want to do is get your chia going.  Chia seeds are this like super miracle food that people are in love with and want to marry.  Google it if you want to weep with joy along with everyone else.  You can use them as the binder for raw crackers, as a thickener for puddings and sauces, and as an egg replacer in baking – so I figured this could replace the eggs AND be the binder of my crackers.  So what you do to get the binder action going (or to use them as an egg replacer in a baking recipe) is put around 1T of seeds in a bowl with about 1/4 c of water and let it sit for 5-10 min.  I used 1/4 c water total at this point cause I wasn’t sure how it was all going to play out in the end, if you know what I mean.  I put everything in a food processor and wound up needing to add quite a bit of water – like 1/2 c or more. I smeared it around on a fruit roll tray in my food dryer – around 1/8 inch thick – and let it go to town.  I took almost 24 hours to dry – mostly cause I had it down at 105 degrees for most of the time.  So – these are great but I would do a few things differently next time around…

I would really like to try these with a much longer fermented nut cheese – so there’s that.  But also I think I would up the chia amount – to like maybe 1/4 c or more of chia seeds and maybe a cup of water cause they came out a bit thicker than I wanted and more on the crumbly side than I was expecting.  That’s not bad at all – neither the thickness or the crumblyness – I’d just like to see what I could do with these.  Also I think I’d use more lemon juice.  You can never have too much lemon juice in anything as far as I’m concerned.


Baron keeps calling these Soylent Green.



