As you, my loyal fans, may know I am a pretty big horror geek.  I’m also a pretty big food geek.  One of my big thrills in life when Halloween rolls around, is to lodge myself into a cozy crevice, with a huge spread of finger and/or junk foods, and watch a non-stop calvacade of all things horror.  I get particularly weak in the knees for 70s and 80s horror, but I also love a good mystery or thriller, and I just can’t get enough of creepy atmosphere.  But I’ll watch pretty much anything, to be honest.  
I love reading some of the horror blogs out there in that vast sea of horror blogdome, and thought some of you might be interested in what has had me glued to the screen of late.  I am, by no means, a horror critic/movie critic/whathaveyou critic.  I have just some opinions here and there, and I calls ’em as I sees ’em.

So this is basically what I watched yesterday – a full day of basking in the glow of the spooky tube.

Dracula 1931

I had actually never seen this before.  I was really impressed by the unkempt state of the really humungous castle he lived in.  Usually they put Dracula in a pretty well decorated and kept up pad – but this one was pretty much trashed…but HUGE.  Baron commented on how enormous everything was – even the bed.

I got Dracula from the library and decided after that to work my way through my own DVD collection.  A little while back I sort of half-assed-ed-ly categorized them by era – or decade.  Actually I think I put everything that came after 1989 in one section, cause that’s how organized I am.  This is the first one that popped up.

Dead Silence

One of my favorite horror movies from recent years.  I thought it was pretty damn creepy – even though it had it’s faults – like excessive use of inappropriate CGI.  Anywho…it’s got loads of atmosphere – and one damn creepy old lady!

I found this really cool drawing of Mary Shaw (the super creepy lady) here.

Next came Trick or Treat, which I do like – but not as much as most horror aficionados do.  I mean it’s cool and it’s got that retro feel, and the good atmosphere and the darkness and the dampness and the mass jack o lanterns and I do like it.  It’s just that that last story line – with the pumpkinhead munchkin just doesn’t do it for me at all.  I like him in other parts of the movie – where he’s just there for a second and you’re all “What the hell is that?!?!”  But in that last part he loses all his mystique for me and I really think it would have been better to leave his gunny sack mask on and not give him ninja powers.   You can just call me “Carol the Blasphemer” from now on if you want.

House of Wax – the newer one with Paris Hilton.

I was totally expecting to think this was stupid and lame – and actually I was kinda surprised.  I mean it had some pretty standard teenager scenes that made me want to roll my eyeballs (I know, I’m getting old) and it had a Gilmore Girls bad boys reunion – which totally made me laugh – cause it was almost as if they were playing the same rolls.  You know who I’m talking about, don’t you.  The one guy that Rory loved – oh Dean, and the other guy who was a dick that she had one of those “I hate you” crushes on.  Anywho – it wasn’t bad – and Paris Hilton didn’t make me throw up.  I gagged a little during her strip tease, but she died right after that so it was ok.

RORY!

Next I watched Drag Me To Hell which I love.  Not only is it just plain fun to watch, but also I watched it last year the day after our big Halloween party and I was all hung over and cozy in my bed and surrounded by candy, popcorn and dip and chip shrapnel from the party and now it just elicits a wonderful, warm, fuzzy feeling in me.

Feelin’ the love.

Up next in my big book of horror movies (really, it’s one of those big DVD books) was American Psycho, and although I had made a silent pact with myself to watch my horror movie collection straight through I just couldn’t stomach it.  Besides, Baron was awake and I didn’t want to subject him to too much screaming or I would risk losing my all-horror day privileges.

I had just read a review of Happy Birthday To Me on The Horror Digest and found it funny.  It had been a long time since I had seen it and I did remember it having that big switcheroo ending – but I didn’t remember being completely confused by the movie.  The part that I thought was so cute was where Andre talks about how the girls look so much alike and how confusing that was and I just had to watch it again to see what she was talking about.  Well, I think this is a matter of, ya had to be there – and when I say there I mean – there in the 70s and 80s.  Don’t get me wrong Andre, I love your blog and I think you have a lot of interesting things to say and I have watched movies on your recommendation…but how could you confuse Mary Wilder from Little House with Lauren Fenmore of Young and the Restless?  When Virginia was on screen all I could think was it’s Mary!  And when Ann was on screen all I could think was it’s that chick from Young and the Restless.  I actually don’t really even know how old you are, so I may be barking up the wrong tree entirely.  So, please, don’t take any of this the wrong way.  I really just think it’s so cute that you could confuse them.

                      Lauren                                                                  Mary     

So that was it.  Actually it wasn’t it.  We put in the last Raiders of the Lost Ark movie – the one with Sean Connery – and I fell asleep like 10 minutes into it.  And tonight we watched Go Ask Alice – which was great! – in a boring sort of way.  

Oh – and Kindertrauma posted another one of my ramblings about a bunch of creepy ladies that freak me out.  Go there now!

And watch this only if you plan on sleeping with the lights on for the next 10 years.

