I don’t know how much this looks like – but it’s a LOT.  I picked berries for almost 4 hours this morning. I would guess that I picked at least double what I picked for the blackberry syrup I made – and that was 12 cups.

I decided to make juice – mostly for the fruit juice kefir that I have been making.  But also so I can make jelly or something with it later.

What I did was put one of those big bowls of berries in a pot and cover them with water – boil and strain.  Then I put all the juice in this big giant pot, and it is over half full – maybe 2/3 full.   To this amount of juice I added 5 cups of sugar and it tasted really good.

This here is the pulp – which I am actually going to use to make a fermented blackberry syrup.  I’m excited about it – but I’m also glad it takes 3 days to ferment – cause all that picking and juice making today just about killed me (I’m lying on the floor as I type this).   I’ll post the recipe for that when I make it.  My fingers are crying right now.

And here is the finished product.  9 quarts (plus a half quart that I am going to use tonight!) of fabulously good blackberry juice.  I honestly never in a million years thought I would have access to this many blackberries.  Last year I made wine with the ones from the patches I found on our property – but this year I have ventured way back behind our chicken coop – onto some property that is totally unused – just woods and this HUGE blackberry field.  It is so crazy.  When I go back there I am up to my knees and hips in blackberry bushes – and I just knock, cut and stomp them down to get to where I want to go.  I could probably go out every day and pick a whole bowl full – but it’s a lot of work.  I might try every other day or every 3 days – just to give my body, and my hands, a rest.

