Wow.  When I read this recipe in the current issue of Better Homes & Garden (yes, I subscribe – it’s actually a pretty good mag – for a country housewife type like me – ha) I thought it sounded really good.  I mulled it over for a while and started to accumulate some cucumbers from my garden, and finally tried it today.  Oh. My. God.  Seriously, it’s sooo good.

I used my japanese cucumbers (about 8 smallish ones) – which are so incredibly sweet – I’ve never had cucumbers that tasted this sweet, basil from my garden, a whole lime, and…the rhubarb syrup (instead of simple syrup).  Oh, and vodka.  The recipe says that straining is optional – but I am all for it.  I’m not really into my alcoholic beverages having the texture of gazpacho.

If you get a chance to try this I HIGHLY recommend it.  Baron even loves it.  He said it’s the most refreshing drink he’s ever had.  And I really wasn’t expecting that.

