MMMMk.  This is the second time this has happened.  Last week during a head splitting heat wave (I’m not a fan of any temp over 78 degrees), we noticed that one of our roosters, Little Pappy, was drooping.  And was being harassed by the other roosters.  There are diseases that make a chicken head droop.  I know this because last summer another rooster, Elvis, was displaying the exact same symptoms.  Droopy head, poor balance, hiding in a corner, etc, etc, etc.  We looked online and called area vets (don’t even bother) and eventually contacted the local extension service and found out that it sounded like a broken neck.  You may be asking, as we were, how a chicken could be alive with a broken neck.  Well, I still don’t have the answer.  This is the second time this has happened and I still don’t understand it.  The rooster with the formerly broken neck called Elvis is fine now.  If you push up on his neck you can tell it’s not quite right – but he runs around all over and has his way with the ladies and eats and lives a chicken life.  We are hoping the same will happen with Little Pappy.  He seems to be getting better (the incident happened about 5 days ago), but he seems to be more afraid of us touching and feeding him than Elvis was.  Anywho…not much else to report.  I’m adding more antique photos to my Etsy store and some old figurines to my eBay account.  I’m planning on making spaghetti with meat sauce in my rice cooker tonight.  Along with a tomato, feta, red bell pepper, basil, balsamic, oil salad.  Sorry no photo – I don’t want to have a pic of my roosters with broken necks.  It’s not nice to see.

UPDATE 10/20/10
I just happened to notice today that this post is my most hit-upon post of all time – so I thought I’d follow through with a bit of info.  Little Pappy is doing fine.  Unfortunately this “broken neck” thing has happened 5 times in the last 3 years (to both roosters and hens).  I don’t know why it happens or if their necks are even really broken or just sprained – but all of them healed fine.  Whenever it would happen we would isolate the chicken so that they did not get pecked to death (it happens – chickens are pretty cruel) and just let them sit in a small cage for a few days.  They won’t really want to move much at all.  Throughout the day we try and give them a bit of water with a syringe (or a plastic bag with the very tip of the corner cut off – sort of like a make shift pastry bag) and I usually set out some yoghurt or something really soft for them to eat when they are able to.  They do seem to pretty much heal on their own.  Anyway – that’s about it.  And sorry Lulu that I never responded to your post.  I just noticed it today!

2nd UPDATE 10/5/11
Oh!  I just realized (two years later) another pretty key element in the healing process that we did – I can’t believe I forgot!  We would always give them a little bit of liquid baby vitamins in the water that we would give them in the dropper.  I can’t find the brand name at the moment – but they are very easy to find – at any drug store – and you just need to make sure you get the version without iron.  I would give them just a few drops in the water and it helps – esp if they are not able to eat.  You can also give it to them in a chicken waterer – but you would probably want to use a whole dropper full and change it out every day.  And yogurt or kefir is really good to give them just so they have lots of beneficial stuff going for them during this down time.

3rd UPDATE 8/2/12
I have another post on helping a goose with an injured neck here.

